Denver Airbnb Rules

Regulations

As of current, the city of Denver makes it illegal to rent out a room or apartment for less than 30 days without a license.

As of June 2016, a new ordinance was put in place:

  • Must have permission from the property owner to run a Short-Term Rental
  • The Short-Term Rental must be the main residence of the person obtaining the license
  • The Licensee must have a Denver Lodger's Tax/Applicable tax account Numbers
  • The License Number must be posted on ALL of Short-Term Rental advertisements for the property
  • Accessory Dwelling Units can be used as a Short Term Rental, but they will only be granted one license per property with a primary resident

STR Organization: Denver Short Term Rental Alliance

Website: http://denvershorttermrentalalliance.com/

Main Contact: Shahla Hebets, hebets.shahla@gmail.com

License:

For the license you are going to need to go through these steps:

Submit an application online through the website (if the application is incomplete there will be an email sent from the department and 14 days to fix any errors)

You will be required to provide the following documents throughout the application process. Required Documents:

  • Copy of Colorado Driver's License or Identification card
  • At least one of the following:
    • Motor vehicle registration
    • Voter registration
    • Tax documents
    • Utility bill

When filing for a license there is a non-refundable fee of $25.

If you are not the owner of the property, then you will be required to have a signed Possession of Property Certification.

Renewing a License:

You can renew your license as early as 60 days before it expires. You will need to go to this link to access the online licensing portal.

On the portal, you will need to go to the "My Licenses" page and select "Renew Application".

You will be required to provide the following documents throughout the application process. Required Documents:

  • Copy of Colorado Driver's License or Identification card
  • At least one of the following:
    • Motor vehicle registration
    • Voter registration
    • Tax documents
    • Utility bill

When filing for a license there is a non-refundable fee of $25.

If you are not the owner of the property, then you will be required to have a signed Possession of Property Certification.

Both getting a license and renewing a license will take around 7 business days. If either license is approved, then there are more steps to follow afterwards that can be found at this website.

Fines and Fees

If you get a citation for your Short Term Rental you have 14 days to complete the payment.

Here are the fines for each citation:

  • 1st penalty is $150
  • 2nd penalty is $500
  • 3rd-5th penalty is $999.

The City will potentially collect late fees/interest for unpaid citations through the use of collection agencies. If you are wanting to pay a citation or learn more about it, you can visit this website.

For more information visit: https://www.denvergov.org/content/denvergov/en/denver-business-licensing-center/business-licenses/short-term-rentals/short-term-rental-citations.html

Protect Your Property Newsletter

Sign up to receive developing news and alerts on protecting rental properties.